Here’s another book precis from my friends at Coaching on Call

3 Seconds: The Power of Thinking Twice by Les Parrott
As a psychologist, Les Parrott was interested in research that showed that it only takes three seconds to redirect a negative impulse in the human brain. Three seconds – the time it takes to make a decision.

In this book he outlines the six common impulses that typically sabotage success, claiming that three seconds is all that stands between those who settle for ‘whatever’ and those who insist on ‘whatever it takes’.

The Six Impulses

The six immediate impulses that Parrott identifies are, he claims, predictable and accepted by most of us without a second thought. Yet they lead to mediocrity and unfulfilled potential. Here he suggests that instead we take just three seconds to reconsider – to consciously replace the first automatic impulse with a second less natural but more effective one, as follows:

Empower Yourself
“There’s nothing I can do about it,” vs “I can’t do everything, but I can do something.”

Embrace a Good Challenge
“It’s too difficult to even attempt,” vs “I love a challenge.”

Fuel Your Passion
“I’ll do what happens to come my way,” vs “I’ll do what I’m designed to do.”

Own Your Piece of the Pie
“It’s not my problem, somebody else is to blame,” vs “The buck stops here.”

Walk the Extra Mile
“I’ve done what’s required, and that’s that,” vs “I’ll go above and beyond the mere minimum.”

Quit Stewing and Start Doing
“Someday I’m going to do that,” vs “I’m diving in … starting today.”

“People are always blaming their circumstances for what they are.
The people that get on in this world are those who get up and look for
the circumstances they want and if they can’t find them, make them.”
George Bernard Shaw